Summer Bounty: Pickling

For as long as I can remember, my parents have had a good size garden. Some of my favorite summertime memories include eating homegrown tomatoes and cucumbers with every meal. Not to mention all of the salads, herbs, yellow and zucchini squash, kohlrabi, beets, green beans and so much more.

This year my dad, sister and I teamed up to try our hands at pickling. (It is definitely a joint effort, especially with an energetic toddler!) I had tried making pickles with a vinegar recipe a few years ago, but they turned out horribly. This time we went with this recipe.

Dad out in the garden harvesting crops.

Sterilizing the jars.

Plenty of Dill.

Creating an environment.

Some slices. We added cayenne to these.

Lastly, some whole pickles.

I just wish we didn’t have to wait six weeks to try them!

Leave a Reply

