Quiche and Coloring

Felix colored for the 1st time yesterday. I think I might have gotten more of a kick out of it than he did. I probably ended up doing more coloring than he as well. He made repeated (and unsuccessful) attempts to eat the crayons, but they made contact with the paper a little, too. They’re wonderfully chunky – great for his little hands.

The fridge is full of Zucchini squash from the farmers market, so for dinner we had Quiche.  The following recipe is an old stand-by for me. It is hand written in my “everything” cookbook. The original source is unknown, but I have altered it a bit anyhow.

Zucchini Quiche

2 medium sized Zucchini squash

1/2 a small onion chopped

a good pinch of herbs de province

9 in pastry shell (I always use the crust recipe from my favorite cookbook)

a handful of grated cheddar cheese

1 cup sour cream

3 eggs

Slice the squash and saute with onions, add herbs just before your finished sauteing. In the pastry shell, layer the grated cheese then sauteed zucchini. Whip sour cream and eggs. Pour over vegetables. Bake at 350 until set, approximately 30-40 minutes.

This hungry little guy couldn’t wait for me to snap a photo. I’m just pleased he liked it so much!

2 responses to “Quiche and Coloring

  1. That looks really yummy! and those crayons are something. I wish I’d know about those when Jude was younger.

  2. Ahh, quiche made from summer market bounty. Yum!

Leave a Reply

