Roots

Roots detail from Erin Sullivan Fournier's work entitled "Alliance"

Roots detail from Erin Sullivan Fournier's work entitled "Alliance"

Having a child does so many things to a person, one of which is merely thinking back to one’s own childhood. After spending 2.5 years in Delaware we recently moved back to Michigan, where my husband and I both grew up. Being back has been wonderful: I cannot even begin to articulate how much I love that Felix is able to see family frequently, let alone describe the feeling I get when I see him playing and interacting with his grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins. But another thing it has done is made me think about all of the people who have influenced me throughout my life.

Recently, I was assisting my childhood art teacher, mentor and dear friend, prepare some images for a show she was applying for. (My favorite) Part of her piece “Alliance” has these wonderfully wild roots. It made me think about how deeply she has impacted me from the very begining of my interest in art. Perhaps I feel such a connection to this root image because it was she that nourished my own “roots”.

Leave a Reply

